Airports

First I shed my jacket. Then I kick off my boots. My hat and scarf get a bin for themselves. My backpack can slide in on its own. My laptop comes out of the case, and I (very gently) place it pressed against the edge of a new gray bin, so that the sticky plastic ridges do not soil it while it slides along the conveyor belt. My bracelets of course, because copper sets off the metal detector. Then I chug my water, send the bottle through, and hold my ticket out so that I can enter the airport gate.

Leave a Reply

