Shoes

These cowboy boots…
Helped me fight gravity.
Let me ride horses through mountain passes.
Made music when I tapped against the yellow line on the subway platform.
Showed me the world three inches higher.
Let me glide over dance floors.
Resisted all weather.
Molded to my flat feet.
Wore down to my socks.
Made me feel like I owned the street.
Have been to four continents.
Cannot stand up by themselves.
Are shredding at the top.
Have permanent asymmetrical deformities.
Need a shoe shine.
Slowly smell even worse.
Are beautiful.
Have lasted me five years.
Are too tattered to keep.

Leave a Reply

